Kano is media friendly, safe, says Commissioner

KNSG sets up technical com’ttee to sanitize activities of broadcast media 

KNSG sets up technical com’ttee to sanitize activities of broadcast media 

By Abdulyassar Abdulhamid  

The Kano State Government has set up a technical committee to sanitize the activities of broadcast media in the state.

The state commissioner for information and Internal Affairs, Muhammadu Garba, disclosed this on Friday while briefing newsmen on the outcome of the state’s Executive Council meeting.

A memo was presented to the Executive Council on how some broadcast media organizations in the state deliberately work against the broadcast ethics thereby engaging in professional misconducts and abuse privileges, the commissioner said.
Garba added that the state government had observed with dismay that the unethical practices by a section of broadcast media are exclusive to Kano State, adding that broadcast codes must be adhered to.
Garba said: “Since we made a pronoucement, a lot of people have expressed concern that probably we are trying to suppress freedom of expression. Actually that is not the case. We are working with all stakeholders to ensure that the broadcast codes are adhered to.
“Our intention is to see how we can liaise with all the media organizations in Kano State to ensure that the broadcast codes are strictly adhered to.”
The commissioner added that he will be the last person to engage in any activity that will hinder the process of freedom of expression.
He added: “I am a former president of Nigerian Union of Journalist (NUJ) and still a member of the World Federation of Journalists. Some of those raising the issue when we fought for this freedom there were no where to be found.”
However, the commissioner added that the composition of the committee will prove the critics of the government’s move to sanitize the activities of broadcast  media in the sate wrong.
The members of the committee include Muhammad Garba, to serve as chairman, Professor Umar Pate, who is the Dean of Post-Graduate Studies, Bayero University, Kano, co-chair.
Others members of the committee are Sa’a Ibrahim, MD ARTV, Ismaila Na’abba Afakallah, Executive Director, Kano Cenorship Board, the commissioner for Justice, the commissioner for Religious Affairs, Muhd Tahir Adamu Baba Impossible.
The state’s officer in charge of Broadcasting Commission, Chairman Boradcast media organizations, Daniel Aboki, Chairman, NUJ Kano Chapter, Abbas Ibrahim, among others, will serve as members of the committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *