Kano government committed to actualizing free

Kano government committed to actualizing free, compulsory education –HOS


Kano government committed to actualizing free, compulsory education –HOS

…Inaugurates committees on education summit 


By Muhammad Hamisu Abdullahi


Kano State Government has reiterated commitment towards providing free and compulsory education not only at the basic but up to post basic level for indigenes of the state.

A statement from the spokesperson of the Office of the state Head of Civil Service, Ismaila Garba Gwammaja said the decision to provide free and compulsory education from primary to secondary school levels was informed by the government desire to uplift the standard and quality of life of the citizenry with a view to enhancing sustainable socio-economic development in the state.

It said the state Head of Civil Service, Dr. Kabiru Shehu disclosed this while inaugurating six sub-committees for an Education Summit to be hosted by the state government this month.

The summit is targeted towards actualizing the objectives of human development, girl-child education and Tsngaya/Almajiri education respectively in the state.

The Head of Service enjoined members of the committees to work assiduously towards achieving the set goals.

He said their selection was based on their track records of service to humanity and competency, urging them to put in their best to justify the confidence reposed on them.

Dr. Shehu announced the names of the chairmen, secretaries and other members of each committee with their terms of reference, urging them to submit their report in earnest to the main committee for possible action.

The Theme and Sub-Themes Committee is headed by the Provost of Sa’adatu Rimi College of Education, Dr. Yahaya Isa Bunkure, while Invitation and Mobilisation Sub-Committee is headed by Deputy Vice Chancellor of Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano, Dr. Aliyu Musa.

Also, Media and Publicity Sub-Committee is headed by the former Commissioner of Information in the state, Malam Muhammadu Garba, with Managing Director of Radio Kano, Alhaji Ghali Sadik; Director-General of Abubakar Rimi Television, Hajiya Sa’a Ibrahim; Managing Director of Triumph Publishing Company, Malam Lawal Sabo Ibrahim and Director-General, Media and Publicity to the state Governor, Malam Aminu Kabir Yassar, are members, while the spokesperson of the Office of the state Head of Civil Service, Malam Isma’ila Garba Gwammaja will serve as secretary of the committee.

Other sub-committees are Rapporteurs and Communique Drafting, to be headed by the Rector of Kano State Polytechnic, Professor Muktar A. Kurawa; Protocol, to be chaired by Professor Balarabe Jakada and lastly but not the least, Security, to be headed by the Commander-General, Kano State Hisbah Board, Sheikh Muhammad Harooun ibn Sina.

The Head of Service also appealed to all members of the sub-committees to work together within the time frame with a view to ensuring a robust education summit, wishing them God’s continued guidance in discharging the tasks ahead.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *