INEC declares APC's Lyon winner of Bayelsa guber election 

INEC declares APC’s Lyon winner of Bayelsa guber election 

News Politics

INEC declares APC’s Lyon winner of Bayelsa guber election 

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the Bayelsa gubernatorial election, David Lyon winner of the November 16 gubernatorial election in the state.


The Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Orunmuwese, announced this on Monday morning.

According to him, the APC candidate, Lyon has satisfied the provision of law and scored the highest number of votes during Saturday’s election.


This has brought to an end the 20 years reign of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.


David Lyon garnered 352,552 votes to defeat his closest rival, Senator Douye Diri of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 143,172.

Lyon won in Nembe, Brass, Southern Ijaw, Yenagoa, Ekeremor and Ogbia local governments, while his opponent won in Sagbama and Kolokuma/Opokuma local governments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *