Fintiri charges Igbo groups to sheath swords 

Fintiri inaugurates 6-man committee on livestock


Fintiri inaugurates 6-man committee on livestock 

From Joseph Asegba, Yola 


Adamawa State Government has set up a six-man committee called ‘Adamawa State Livestock Transformation Committee.’


Inaugurating the committee in Yola recently, the state deputy governor, Chief Crowther Seth advised its members to exhibit high sense of responsibility.

The Deputy Governor also told them that in order to make the programme successful; they should liaise with the national livestock body.


Speaking earlier, the chairman of the committee, Professor Anikido Ambrose Voh thanked the government for the confidence reposed in them, expressing the importance of the programme as it is a home-grown strategy by the Federal Government for a peaceful atmosphere and a dependable livestock policy.


Professor Voh also noted that herders and farmers crisis has been a menace in the state and the Northeast region.


He viewed it as necessary to proffer a solution to the problems, adding: “it therefore gives me joy that the Adamawa State Government has, in no small measures, taken a step towards ensuring peace.”


The committee chairman also added that the act has shown the forthrightness of administration towards this direction.


Professor Voh buttressed that the National Executive Council (NEC) with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo as the head, approved seven states as model for the livestock plan.


He stressed that: “The NEC also approved that ranching be adopted with land and pre-requisite that existing land be adopted.”

Professor Voh added: “We have put together all the requirements which will be submitted and we have so many factors in our favour as a state.”


Responding to questions, the chairman of the committee, Professor Voh told journalists that the national livestock plan has nothing to do with the ‘Ruga’ transformation plan, adding that its plan would use the gazette grazing reserve documentation.

He pointed out that: “and we are to identify grazing routes both at the national and international routes which has been done.”


Meanwhile, the committee has the following as members, Dr. Garba Ahmad, Dr. Gideon Shalpella, Ibrahim Michika, Suleiman A. Umar and Malam Sajo Zakari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *